Loading...

我们的日志

圣加拉奇岛 — 大自然中的人间天堂

2017年 11月 21日

在我们从雅加达飞往巴厘巴板两小时的飞行途中,我兴奋不已地读着有关目的地的一切。圣加拉奇岛在婆罗洲岛上,是一座森林密布的面积11.5公顷的小岛(距离印度尼西亚贝劳的东海岸约60 km)。在地图上,它恰好位于广袤的面积达127万公顷的圣加拉奇海洋遗产公园之中。坐落于地球上生物多样性最为丰富的海域之一,这片地区有着460种珊瑚(硬珊瑚物种多样性排名世界第二)和超过700种鱼类。文中提到,这里还是濒危动物绿海龟在东南亚最大的繁殖地,看到这里我真是按耐不住激动的心情。圣加拉奇岛是如此令人向往,尽管这里早已被列入我们的行程计划中,我们还是迫不及待地想去亲自体验一下!

在从巴厘巴板到贝劳的短暂飞行和90分钟的船行后,我一踏上圣加拉奇岛白皑皑的沙滩,原本疲倦的双眼就猛然一亮。这是一个堪称完美的热带岛屿,置身其中你会觉得那些礼品店里陈列的明信片中的景色与此相比是多么不值一提。四周的珊瑚礁、浅浅的环礁湖、洁白的沙滩,环绕着郁郁葱葱的丛林,组成一幅和谐的美卷。圣加拉奇度假村的沙滩小屋静静地坐落在林荫下。一切都如此让人心满意足,想到接下来我们将在这里度过六天的美好时光,我简直欣喜若狂!

走几步来到沙滩上,我才真正领会了圣加拉奇度假村位置的得天独厚。站在岛的北端向西望去,你可以看到Samama岛,那是一个重要的鸟类保护区。向东,你能看到卡卡班岛,那里的水母湖有着四种当地特有的无刺水母。而在玛拉图娃岛后方不远处,就是世界上少有的几个能目睹成群梭子鱼盘旋游动的地方。

对我们而言,圣加拉奇的亮点之一要数那些巨大的 绿海龟了(尽管这里精彩无限)。我们能看到那些母绿海龟每天夜里离开水面,在沙滩上寻找筑巢点。她们会用鳍脚挖出一个巢穴,在我们的房前产蛋,一切就近在眼前。绿海龟慢慢地用沙子把蛋埋起来,然后回到水中,消失在黑夜的尽头。大约六周后,龟宝宝就会孵出来了,用它们特殊的卵齿破壳而出。许许多多的海龟持续不断地在圣加拉奇沙滩上筑巢下蛋,海龟宝宝到处都是!作为海龟保护计划的一部分,产蛋数和孵化量会被记录下来,海龟宝宝会被放归海洋。如此一来,美丽的沙滩就全被覆盖了,不是被人的足迹覆盖,而是海龟的踪迹!

 

此行另一个亮点是卡卡班湖,从圣加拉奇岛过去只要一段短距离的船行就到了。这是世界上最大的,物种最多样的水母湖,位于杳无人迹的卡卡班岛上。水母湖原是一个珊瑚环礁泻湖,然而几百万年过去,珊瑚礁在海平面上移动,灌入海水,形成了一个内陆海洋湖! 在红树林环绕的湖边小心地浮潜,我们发现了美妙绝伦的天然海绵花园,这里有五彩斑斓各种各样的海绵,这可是在旅行指南上从未提到过的。哦对了,还有水母,天啊,多到你数也数不清!

接下来该说说潜水了!圣加拉奇岛和周边的岛屿堪称是一座水肺潜水的宝地。蝠鲼和鲸鲨在这片水域非常常见,真是迫不及待地想要看到他们。在蒲甘(传统的钓鱼台)附近,我们和鲸鲨一起潜水。而当我们在圣加拉奇岛周边的许多鱼类清洗站潜水时,往往都能看到蝠鲼。而且我们还在玛拉图娃岛附近看到了成群游动的梭子鱼。 我承认第一次潜水让我感到有点害怕,因为潜水点的位置不仅有着强烈的视觉震撼,而且(该怎么说呢)有些许强大的洋流。但是一如往常,Michael和Polly带我进行了第二次潜水。就是这一次,我目睹了让人难以置信的鱼类团队合作。数百只梭子鱼游成一个塔状环绕的阵型,在深邃浩大的海洋背景下,这一幕是如此的令人震撼。

让我们印象特别深刻的是(除了海岛的绝世之美外),圣加拉奇度假村的良好管理极力的推进了岛上的可持续发展。从2015年起,圣加拉奇度假村的新主人就推行了许多改善措施。例如,收集的雨水被充分而高效的利用起来。雨水通过沙滩小屋屋顶收集起来,存储在一个大大的地下蓄水池中。这些雨水流经一个良好的碳过滤系统后,可以用作淋浴和自来水。同样,这里也呼吁减少塑料用品,通过积极主动地管理来配合支持可持续发展项目,尤其是那些涉及再生能源、废物处理和风景保护的项目。 关于圣加拉奇岛我真的还有好多要说,但是我想我必须要快点停下来了!总之,如果你是一个潜水者,你一定会非常享受与大家伙的水下共舞;如果你是浮潜者,这里有鲸鲨、蝠鲼和水母的陪伴,想必你会异常欣喜;如果你是一个大自然的爱好者,你会情不自禁地爱上这座岛的丛林、独特的鸟类、巨型蜥蜴、大个儿的椰子蟹、美丽的花卉和周围的珊瑚花园。哪怕你不潜水、不浮潜或者对动植物不甚感兴趣,就只是在优美的沙湾游泳,或者坐在环礁湖边看着傍晚的夕阳慢慢沉入西里伯斯海,你也会沉醉在这一片人间天堂。亲历过这里所有的美好后,你一定会想再回来的!

更多精彩照片

    这是一张从空中拍摄的照片,在圣加拉奇岛周围,蝠鲼在晶莹的水中游荡。

    圣加拉奇度假村的沙滩小屋配备了空调,刚好就坐落在树林边的林荫下。

    在离圣加拉奇岛不远处,蒲甘钓鱼台附近,Polly在拍摄一只鲸鲨。

    我们的船停靠在一个近玛拉图娃岛的沙坝上,潜水之余我们还在那游了泳。

     早上,当我们在印尼钓鱼台蒲甘附近潜水时,一只鲸鲨穿巡而过。

    在玛拉图娃岛附近的海峡,Michael在用他的袖珍照相机给成群游动的梭子鱼拍照。

    这是与圣加拉奇岛毗邻的卡卡班岛,这里有一个水母湖。记得一定要在岸边的红树林附近浮潜,看看那些美丽的天然海绵森林。

只需要从圣加拉奇岛乘船进行一段短暂的航行,我们就来到了举世无双的卡卡班岛水母湖浮潜。这里是世界上最大的,水母种类最丰富的水母湖。

    卡卡班湖周围环绕着红树林,那里就像一场缤纷海绵的视觉盛宴。

Shiho向我们展示了,浮潜也是亲近安宁的鲸鲨的一种不错之选。

    在圣加拉奇岛的夜晚,Shiho和Polly在静静地观察一只母绿海龟产蛋。

    这张照片是涨潮时的圣加拉奇岛,海水如水晶般透彻,丛林郁郁葱葱。在潮落时,你可以沿着礁石走的更远些。

    这是在卡卡班岛潜水时的又一美丽景象,就在圣加拉奇岛旁边。最后,你可以在卡卡班湖浮潜,结束一天的美妙之旅。

    在偏远的圣加拉奇岛,绿海龟的踪迹随处可见,因为这里的母海龟一年四季都会在沙滩上下蛋。

    这张照片摄于2017年11月,此行的最后一天,客人们是那么开心却又那么不舍,这里还有圣加拉奇度假村的Johny和他的妻子Elicia(最右边)。

    在圣加拉奇岛古老的码头上,Michael用无人机拍下了这张照片,记录下我们无数美好时光中的一刹那。从左到右分别是:Paul、Shiho、Polly和Michael。

目前,保护像圣加拉奇岛、卡卡班岛和玛拉图娃岛这样海洋生态环境富饶的岛屿的最好办法,就是以可持续发展的方式来利用这里的自然资源。我们不仅要保护这片有着惊世之美的自然环境,也要保护当地居民赖以生存的物料资源。旅游业已经成为了当地就业机会和经济收入的重要来源。通过这样可持续发展的方式,我们相信圣加拉奇岛和其周边的岛屿能够变得越来越有价值(而不是变得捕捞过度或是没落),同时可以保护这里的海洋生物和珊瑚礁物种依然丰富而不受破坏。让我们共同支持像圣加拉奇岛这些海岛的旅游业吧,这样一来,你不仅仅为保护稀有的生态系统做出了贡献,同样也会收获一段难忘的学习经历!

 

©️我的珊瑚礁日记2017

Loading...

Our Diary

Sangalaki Island - A Natural Paradise

21 November 2017

On our 2 hour flight from Jakarta to Balikpapan, I was excitedly reading about the island we were about to visit. Sangalaki Island, is a small, densely forested 11.5 hectare island (about 60 km off the east coast of Berau, Indonesia) on the island of Borneo. Looking at a map, it seemed ideally placed inside the impressively large 1.27 million hectare Sangalaki Marine Heritage Park. Located in one of the most biologically rich marine areas on Earth the region has 460 species of coral (world’s second-highest level of hard coral diversity) and over 700 species of fish. Reading that it was also home to Southeast Asia’s largest nesting grounds for endangered Green Turtles, I began to get excited. Sangalaki Island, as a result, was beginning to tick a lot of our pre-travel boxes, but we were curious to experience this for ourselves!

After a short flight from Balikpapan to Berau and a 90 minute boat ride, my tired eyes quickly lightened up as I stepped onto the beautiful white sands of Sangalaki Island. We had  arrived on that perfect tropical island that teases you on gift shop postcard displays. The surrounding coral reefs, shallow lagoons, and white sandy beaches, slowly surrendered to the thick and green island jungle. The beach bungalows of Sangalaki Resort were shaded quietly under the tree-line. For obvious reasons we were pretty happy that this would be our new home for the next six days!  A short walk up to the beach and I understood why Sangalaki Resort was so well positioned. Gazing westwards from the northern tip of the island you could see Samama Island, an important bird sanctuary. To the east you could see Kakaban Island, where a single lake is home to four endemic species of stingless jellyfish. Then laying just a short distance behind was Maratua Island, one of the few places in the world where you can witness huge schools of circling barracuda. 

One of the highlights of Sangalaki for us (although there were many) were the large Green Turtles. We would see the females leaving the water every night, looking for nesting places on the beach. She would dig out a nest with her flippers, laying eggs just a stone’s throw away from our bungalows. Slowly covering the eggs with sand, the Green Turtle would finally return to the water and vanish into the dark night. About six weeks after, the baby turtles would hatch, using their special egg tooth to exit from the egg. Because there are so many turtles continually nesting on the beaches of Sangalaki, we would see baby turtles everywhere.  As part of a Turtle Conservation Program, the amount of eggs and hatchings would be recorded and the baby turtles would be released into the ocean.  As a result the beautiful beaches are covered, not with human footprints but turtle tracks.

Another highlight was Lake Kakaban, a short boat ride away. This is the world’s largest and most diverse jellyfish lake, located on the uninhabited Kakaban Island. The lake was originally a coral atoll lagoon, but over milllions of years the coral reef moved above sea level, trapping ocean water and creating a landlocked marine lake! Snorkelling carefully around the lake's fringing mangrove trees we found the most beautiful, and strangely enchanting. sponge gardens, with sponges of all colours, shapes and sizes, something that none of the guidebooks mentioned. And the jelly fish, well, there were lots of them!

Now for the diving! Sangalaki and surrounding Islands are a scuba diving gold mine. Manta Rays and Whale Sharks are very much at home in these waters, so expect to see them. We dived with Whale Sharks near the Bagans (traditional fishing platforms) and we saw Manta Rays regularly at the many fish cleaning stations surrounding Sangalaki Island on our daily dives. Also we witnessed schooling barracuda off Maratua Atoll. The first dive I admit freaked me out a little, as the location of the site is not only visually stunning but (how can I put this) slightly overwhelming with currents. But as usual, Michael and Polly talked me into a second dive. It was on this second dive that I witnessed the most incredible display of fish teamwork. Hundreds of barracuda swam in one towering circling formation, with a deep ocean backdrop that was absolutely stunning.  

What particularly impressed us (outside of the island's stunning beauty) was the eagerness of the management at Sanagalaki Resort to reach sustainabilty on the island. Since 2015, new ownership of the Sangalaki Resort, resulted in many postive changes on the island. For example, rainfall harvesting is already being ultilized very effectively. Rain is captured on bungalow rooftops and stored in a large underground cistern. Passing through a well-maintained carbon filtration system, it is used for showers and tapwater. The reduction of plastic is also being addressed and the managent are very proactive when supporting sustainable projects, particulary those invoving renewable energy, waste management and preserving the island's natural beauty.

I really have more to write about Sangalaki Island but I feel I must stop soon! However, as a diver, you will surely be happy with your Big Fish experiences; as a snorkeler you will be happy with your Whale Shark, Manta and Jellyfish Lake encounters and as a nature lover, you will love the island’s jungle, with its unique bird life, large lizards, larger coconut crabs and beautiful flowers and surrounding coral gardens. Without diving, snorkelling or nature loving, you will surely be happy swimming in the beautiful beaches, particularly sitting in the lagoon waters as you watch the evening sun sinking into the Celebes Sea. As all of the above, you will surely return! 

SHORT VIDEO OF OUR TRIP

MORE PHOTOS OF OUR TRIP                                                                                                 

Manta Rays in the crystal waters surrounding Sangalaki Island, taken from the air.

The air-conditioned beach bungalows of Sangalaki Resort sitting just under the tree-line. 

Polly capturing a moment with a whale shark near a Bagan fishing platform not far from Sangalaki Island.

Our boat sitting next to a sand bank near Maratua Atoll where we had a swim between dives.

A Whale Shark cruises past us on our morning dive near a Bagan, an Indonesian fishing platform.

Michael taking photos of schooling Barracudas with his compact camera in the channel near Maratua Atoll.

Sangalaki's neighbouring Kakaban Island with its jellyfish lake. Make sure you snorkel around the fringing mangrove trees to see the beautiful sponge forests.

Snorkelling in the unique Jelly Fish Lake on Kakaban, the world’s largest and most diverse jellyfish lake, and a short boat ride from Sangalaki Island.

The mangrove tree line bordering Lake Kakaban was a buffet of colourful sponges.

Shiho showing how snorkeling is also a good option for getting up close with the peaceful Whale Sharks.  

Shiho and Polly quietly watching a female Green Turtle laying eggs on Sangalaki Isand in the night time.

Sangalaki Island at high tide with its crystal clear waters and thick, green jungle. At low tide you can easily explore reef and walk around the island (about 1.4 km).

Another beautiful dive sight at Kakaban Island situated next to Sangalaki Island, where you can finish off with a snorkel in Lake Kakaban.

Green Turtle tracks are a common sight on remote Sangalaki Island as the female turtles will lay eggs on the beaches all year round.

Happy but sad guests at on our last day in November 2017, including Johny and his wife Elicia (Far Right) from Sangalaki Resort.

 Mchael took this photo with a drone while we lay on the old pier  on Sangalaki Island, on one of our many perfect days. From Left to Right: Paul, Shiho, Polly and Michael. 

Currently the best way to conserve islands with rich marine environments like Sangalaki, Kakaban and Maratua is to utilise their natural resources in a way that will ensure a bright future. This includes not only protecting their breathtaking nature but also the livelihoods of the many local people that depend on these regions for food and income. In this way tourism has become an important source of employment and income for the local population. This proves that Sangalaki and its surrounding islands can become more valuable (rather than the other option of becoming overfished and degraded) while marine life and coral reefs remain plentiful. By supporting sustainable tourism on islands like Sangalaki, you are not only supporting the protection of these rare ecosystems, but also investing in an unforgettable learning experience!

 

©My Reef's Diary 2017