Our Diary

Beauty on Our Doorsteps

02 April 2017

The Coral Triangle is bounded by the six countries of Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Solomon Islands and Timor Leste, collectively known as the Coral Triangle 6 or more commonly, the CT6. The Coral Triangle is recognised as a globally significant hotspot of marine biodiversity. It consists of 20% of all plant and animal species on our planet. It has the largest global concentration and diversity of coral reefs. It is home to a staggering 76% of the world’s coral species. It houses 37% of our planets 6,000 coral reef fish species. Occupying only 1.6% of our oceans, it encompasses the largest expanse of coral reef (approximately 73,000 square kms).

The Indonesian archipelago is located at the centre of this ecologically rich region. Indonesia has the largest portion of coastline (108,800 square kms) and sea surface area (5,800,000 square kms). Indonesia also has a staggering 35,337 square kms of mangrove forest, 51,000 square kms of coral reef and 30,000 square kms of seagrass beds. This natural heritage represents an important source of income and employment for Indonesians, while our future is dependent on the sustainable management of these ecosystems and resources.  By supporting sustainable economic growth in the Coral Triangle we engage and benefit our communities and promote protective management of our natural treasures.

©My Reef's Diary 2017